Monday, February 7, 2011

Never ordering from ELF again!

Warning: This post contains my opinion. They are harsh! 

Okay so I have ordered from ELF sooo many times before in the past, and was so excited when I did my last order. I got the 100 color shadow pallet, and I could not wait to get it! It came rather quickly, but was missing my daily brush cleaner. I contacted the company, and they told me they would get it right out to me, which they did after I had to ask them 3 times about it.

They then did send me out my brush cleaner in a yellow envelope via the United States Postal Service. The entire bottle had broken, and leaked everywhere! Half of my product was gone.

I contacted ELF 5 days ago about this, and just today received an email back. It was a generic email and did not provide me with any information. I then checked their site, and saw that "Backordered and or damaged products will be fully refunded."   How the hell can I be refunded if I can never get in touch with anyone!?

This has been a horrible experience, and it will take a lot from ELF to get be back as a regular customer.

Friday, January 28, 2011

We have a Formspring!

Hello everyone! Hope you are having a fabulous new year! We have been sooo busy here... starting school again, got a new car, and a promotion at work!!! We will have reviews up very shortly! 

I am looking for help with reviewing products, and am looking to create a Youtube channel with all different reviewers. If you are interested, please leave your email address (I will not publish your post) on our Formspring and I will contact you as soon as possible! 

Feel free to log on and let us know what you would like to see with this site. What products you would like for us to review, and any comments you may have. It would be greatly appreciated.

Have a great weekend everyone!! 


Friday, January 14, 2011

Beauty Secret: Lanacane Anti-Chafting Gel as a facial primer

So when you first see this title, you may be thinking "what the!?", but I have to assure you, this is the best discovery I have found!!! 
Recently, I have heard a lot of talk about face primer, and never really used it. I have insanely oily skin, and nothing seemed to help it. Primer is supposed to help control the oils, so I decided to give one a try. I used Prime Time from Bare Minerals, and spent $30 on nearly no product at all. I was desperate to find a new primer, so I was looking into the Smashbox Photo Finish primer. The ingredients and nearly identical to the Lanacane Gel, and I find that the gel works so much better!!! And better yet (if that's possible), it does not make me break out like the Smashbox did! And the price difference is unbelievable.

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Ingredients: Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Isopropylparaben, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, Carthamus Tinctorium (Safflower) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Water.

Lanacane Anti-Chafing Gel Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, silica, tocopheryl acetate, trisiloxane.

As you can see, they have the same ingredients! I swear by this product! 

Retail Price: I picked it up at Walgreens for $6.99
Pros: Read above! 
Cons: Ugly packaging! I squeezed mine out into a makeup container I purchased online for $4.99 (

Thursday, December 30, 2010

Elf Mineral Concealer

For a long time now, I have been using Bare Minerals for my every day skin routine. I have horrible acne scars that nothing seems to cover up, besides for the Bare Minerals. However, when I moved to a different state, I lost my job and was really low on money. I ordered some primer from Elf, and decided to try out their mineral makeup. For $5, I had nothing to loose.

Retail Price: Only $5 from 
Pros: Works just as well, if not better than the Bare Minerals did! Great price. Nice packaging. 
Cons: You might have to apply a liquid concealer under this one. I know some days I do. Does not come with brush, but I use my Bare Mineral's brush with it.

I would purchase this product again! FYI: Light is very light! 

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Have any requests or questions?

Have any requests on products you would like to see? Have any questions about us? Wanna show us your makeup collection, or share a look you created?

Email or IM us!

Monday, December 27, 2010

Product Rave: Tarte Park Avenue Princess Mineral Waterproof Matte Bronzer

Wowzas! That was one long title, but I hope it grabbed your attention! I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! It is seriously one of my all time favorite pieces of makeup! I will be purchasing this for a very, very long time! This product is a sister to the original formula, which delivers a lot of shimmer.

Retail Price: $29 at Sephora, but it is seriously worth every single penny!
Pros: Offers Tarte's skinvigorating technology to help soften and soothe skin. Has no shimmer to it, so it will look all natural. Delivers a gorgeous natural golden color. A little bit goes a long way! Very cute packaging!
Cons: I wish this bronzer came with a brush. I use it with my MAC 182 brush.

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Laura Geller Creaseless Concealer

Do not waste your money on this product. It is not worth it, at all. I purchased it because I have a few eye shadows from Laura Geller, and love them! They are such great quality shadows, last all day (seriously, they stay on forever!), and are beautifully pigmented. I didn't bother doing any research on the concealer before I went shopping, but I sure wish I did. I have severe acne scars, and the women at the store told me this was the perfect product for me. Not.

Retail Price: I purchased this for $23 at Sephora.  
Pros: Stays true to the color it is listed as. For example, light was really light. Had yellow undertones. 
Cons: Comes in a tube with a brush attached. Not only is that a place for bacteria to collect, but it is extremely messy. Covers nothing, not even a freckle. Makes oily skin extremely dry looking. Cakey if you apply anything over it. Complete waste of money! 

I would never buy this product again, and do not recommend this to anyone. The concealer I purchased from ELF did a better job than this one. Just goes to show that you sometimes do pay for the name, not the product! And also do your research before you buy makeup! ;)